Character Reference

Michael made a comment about how I live in a perfect world, and it got me thinking that a lot of people comment that I’m “too happy”, but not just that, they often add that nothing bad ever happens to me.

Firstly, I’d like to say that it’s untrue, I mean, even though it’s not that bad on the grand scale of things, having someone follow me to a car park wasn’t the greatest experience ever, and is the the reason why I insist on only buying clothes and shoes that I can run away in (with special occasions being exceptions). Overall, I will admit that I do have a pretty lucky life though.

Anyway, it first made me wonder if maybe I’m too naïve. I have thought this before, but recent discussions on lying have brought it up again. Since I prefer to tell the truth, and believe in someone being innocent before guilty, I’m usually told that it’s a naïve way to live. I think it has kinda worked for me so far.

However, at dinner last night, both Pharmacist and MrFodder said that I am a bad judge of character. I disagree, but it’s one of those things is hard to see from your own perspective. I also asked darkpast, but he said he tends to be oblivious to most things, so he couldn’t really say.

I wouldn’t mind being called a bad judge of character on its own, but in combination with being naïve, it’s not a very good trait to have.

Pharmacist said he thinks that because I have some questionable friends, but I like to have friends who think differently to me to get a different perspective on life, so I’m not too fussed about that. MrFodder says that he thinks some people take advantage of me, but I don’t think I’ve felt taken advantage of.

I know some people think I am, because I like to do things to cheer people up. That started from my retail days, when someone said he thought I was funny. It took him about a second to say that, and it cheered me up for the rest of my shift. Ever since then, I’ve always tried to do things for other people if I believe that the happiness they will gain outweighs the effort it takes me. So giving someone a compliment is easy, takes a few seconds, and usually cheers them up for a few minutes at least, which is a net gain of happiness. So for the most part, I don’t feel like I’ve been taken advantage of.

But maybe there are people out there who know this about me, and try to exploit it. And I really hate the feeling of being used.

I’m still thinking a bit more about it, but I’m not sure what I can do about it. I don’t want to live my life being suspicious of everyone around me, that just sounds like a recipe for misery.

(I thought today would be an appropriate day to post this given the overall theme of trickery.)

This entry was posted in 365, life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

