Vegan Choc-Banana Ice-Cream, Attempt 1

When I first heard of someone making ice-cream from just bananas and coconut milk, I was enthralled. Banana and coconut are two of my favourite ice-cream flavours, and combined together sounded like heaven. I’ve been making vegan ice-cream for a while now, and it’s very coconut cream / milk based, because that’s one of the best fatty dairy alternatives we have available, but the problem is that it leaves everything with a coconut taste (unless you mask the flavour heavily with something like chocolate or mint). MrFodder isn’t as big a fan of coconut as I am, so I’ve been looking into ways to reduce the amount of coconut anything I use.

I’m told the banana coconut ice-cream didn’t have a heavy coconut flavour because banana was the main ingredient.

It turns out you can make “ice-cream” from just blended frozen bananas. It doesn’t quite have the same texture, especially if you try to re-freeze it, but it’s close.

So my first attempt at making a banana-based ice cream involved substituting the coconut cream with blended banana.

My first attempt was:

342g banana, blended

400ml soy milk

50g xylitol

1 teaspoon cinnamon (way too much, I would go half next time)

It was an icy mess.

I could put it in the ice-cream tub:

But once I left it to freeze overnight, it was almost impossible to scoop out.

I think there was too much water, from the banana and from the soy milk, and too much solid from the bananas, so it needed a bit more milk.

Since I happened to have some overripe bananas, I thought I’d try choc banana ice-cream.

Ingredients

327g banana, ripe, blended

15g pea protein

600ml soy milk

30g dark chocolate (I used 99%)

115g xylitol

8g xanthan gum

Method

1. Whisk all the ingredients together in a medium-sized saucepan until the powdered ingredients are a bit lumpy. Heat over medium-low heat, while whisking, until chocolate is melted and it comes to a gentle simmer.

2. Remove from heat and put in the fridge for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight.

It will look pretty thick:

3. Prepare according to your ice-cream maker’s instructions. I put it in the Breville Smart Scoop on the second-hardest setting.

4. Unless serving right away, remove immediately from the ice-cream machine and freeze for at least 5 hours.

It has neither a strong chocolate nor a strong banana taste, which is a bit unfortunate, but it’s OK tasting. It was quite smooth, but there’s a weird aftertaste, which might be from the protein or the xanthan gum. Might try increasing the banana and reducing the milk next time.

This entry was posted in 365, Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

