Vegan Coffee Ice Cream

Another one for the monthly ice-cream challenge! MrBrioche thinks that it doesn’t matter what kind of coffee you use for ice-cream, whether good beans or instant. I begged to differ, so I had planned to do a blind taste test in the office, but didn’t have time to make my instant coffee ice-cream, so it’ll have to wait until I’m back from Fiji.

I was a bit worried that the extra coffee would add too much water, and I didn’t want to use coconut anything because I didn’t want there to be a coconut flavour in the ice-cream, so I was unsure how it would turn out.

Ingredients

800g soy milk (yes, grams, I couldn’t be bothered getting a measuring cup out)

50g stevia

175g raw sugar

1 cup coffee made from an aeropress

2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

Heat all the ingredients together. Cool in fridge for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight. Prepare in ice-cream machine.

I was surprised how simple it was, and even after a day, the ice-cream was really soft! There were a few icy bits, and the coffee flavour wasn’t as strong as I’d have liked – it was more like an iced coffee flavour, rather than actual coffee, very sweet. I might try again with dextrose and see how I go.

MrFodder really liked it, so that’s a good sign. I also want to experiment with adding a bit of chocolate for a mocha flavoured ice-cream.

This entry was posted in 365, Food and drink and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment