Things I Want To Do Before I Die (31-40)

31. Get Teekay to admit that I’m a girl.
32. Look out the window from the 20th+ floor of a building.
33. Put a video on YouTube.
34. Go camping alone for a week or more.
35. Tell an outrageous lie and convince people that it’s true.
36. Make a successful match between two of my friends.
37. Go on a road trip.
38. Keep my New Year’s Resolution in one year.
39. Fall in love.
40. Have my heart broken.
Charles just linked me a site for LOLCODE – Programming the LOL way. All LOLCats, LOL, ALL CAPS. 

For instance, this is a “Hello World” variation in LOLCODE:

HAI
CAN HAS STDIO?
VISIBLE "HAI WORLD!"
KTHXBYE

All LOLCODE must be in caps, HAI marks the start of the code, and KTHXBYE marks the end of it. CAN HAS is like #include, it loads a module, in this case, we’re loading standard input/output (STDIO). VISIBLE prints something out, in this case, we’re printing “HAI WORLD!”. How easy is that? ^_^

Here’s another example I found funny:

HAI
CAN HAS STDIO?
PLZ OPEN FILE "LOLCATS.TXT"?
 AWSUM THX
  VISIBLE FILE
 O NOES
  INVISIBLE "ERROR!"
KTHXBYE


I love how the line you follow when PLZ works is after AWSUM THX, and the line you follow if PLZ fails is after O NOES. INVISIBLE is like VISIBLE only it prints it stderr instead of stdout.

What I wanted to write about yesterday, but ran out of time (as Pulkit insists that I must blog every day and I just made it last night), was about a conversation I had with Gojky and his girlfriend’s best friend Eduardo. Eduardo was saying how women keep talking about wanting equal rights, and that it was wrong. He said women shouldn’t demand equal rights because at the moment, they’re being treated like queens. Eduardo mentioned a friend of his who was adamant that women should get equal rights, but when Eduardo mentioned that men in his country are required to join the army for a year, and that single fathers get no monetary compensation, he made her change her mind. Personally, I don’t see the problem with conscription including females. I’m female, and while I’m not the most awesome athelete in the world, there are some males that even I can outrun. Sure, we have periods, and our bodies aren’t as suited for physical combat, but the same can be said about some males – er… the bodies aren’t suited for physical combat thing, not the having periods thing (which can be negated by taking the contraceptive pill, I’ve heard). And hey, having some females on the ranks would help dispel all the men who are in the army are gay myths, which in turn would make men more likely to join the army as they wouldn’t fear being thought gay. Win-win! 

As for the monetary compensation, I think that in some cases, men should be demanding equal rights. Eduardo says that he always pays for everything for his girlfriend, and spoils her. Personally, I hate that. (BTW, Charmeleon, if you are still reading this, I still owe you dinner. For once, let me pay for dinner! T_T) If I enjoy someone’s company, that is enough for me, he doesn’t have to pay for dinner and movie tickets and taxis. He shouldn’t be required to buy me flowers for no reason, or take me on holidays just because. If he wanted to do all those things, then that’s fine, but it shouldn’t be an expectation. My high school arts teacher, Ms. Cox, apparantly never lets guys pay for anything for her (it’s only a rumour, so I can’t say for sure), and I respect that. I’d like to be independant.

But…. contrary to all that I’ve just said, I thought it was sweet of Gojky to buy his girlfriend a present from Melbourne. He says that she likes to cook things for him all the time which he loves. From the sounds of things, their relationship seems to be equal, which is good. I know that I want to be independant, but I am afraid that some day I’ll be so caught up in trying to do everything for myself, that I’ll forget that there is someone else in the relationship. And just because he wants to help me carry things or pull my chair out for me doesn’t mean he thinks I’m any less of a person. I think that is what Julian was trying to tell me so long ago. But that doesn’t mean I’m cooking for a guy unless I want to – or it’s an evil man-spawn like Kalg. ^_^

This entry was posted in geeky, guys, life, lists. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things I Want To Do Before I Die (31-40)

  1. Drizzt says:

    u havent been in a 20+ floor building yet :O

  2. Anna says:

    No, I haven\’t. Also, I\’d be really dubious about looking out as I\’m scared of heights. =/

  3. Jedi_Amara says:

    WTF, you *want* to have your heart broken?!

  4. Anna says:

    So that I know what it feels like.

  5. Pingback: Things to do before I die (update) | :|

Leave a comment